Standard

Back in January I wrote about the flowering of my indoor dwarf lemon tree. I am glad to report at this time that I now have at least 10 very young, very green, very small lemons growing on my tree. That isn’t many compared to all the blossoms it had, but in all the history of the tree I think we’ve had maybe 2 lemons make it to the yellow stage, and never 10 green ones all at once.

DSC07908.JPG

How many young lemons can you see?

The tree is also sending out new blossoms, so the possibility of  more lemons is there.

Back in January I had asked about pollination, and gotten several suggestions. I had tried the Q-tip pollination method, but have no idea whether that actually succeeded, or whether these lemons are from other blossoms that did themselves.

DSC07909.JPG

New lemons, dying blossoms…

Now my question is, how long does it take? The one article I looked up, indicated that the tree, with the right “weather” conditions, could bloom and bear fruit year-round. And from blossom to fruit could be 6-9 months. So since those blossoms were in January, I’m guessing fruit could ripen from July to October. That is a pretty broad timeframe.

So, after years, will I finally get a “crop”, or will something blight my harvest?

 

Leave a Reply

