And the evening, and the morning …

Standard

Was a house warming party!

I was looking for a topic to blog about today, and there it was before me, right outside my front door.

It all began last night, around 9 p.m., as I was headed to bed. I happened to look out the upstairs window and noticed that there was a car parked down the road, facing down.

Now, no one parks on our road. The road has no shoulders; it is barely two cars wide. there is just no place to park a car. Yet there was a car parked on the road. A few minutes later there was another car parked, this one facing up, just far enough up that cars could get between them.

When I woke up at 11 p.m. to the sound of the daughter getting ready for bed, I took a bathroom break and notice a lot of cars parked up and down the road. I noticed the garage door open on the house across the way, but couldn’t really tell that anything was going on there, or at any of the other houses on the street. Yet it seemed the only logical place.  I could see a small (possibly 25-inch) TV going in the living room, but no signs of anyone watching it. Yet if it was the house, why was no one parking in the driveway?

At 2 a.m., when i woke and took another restroom break (this wasn’t a solid sleep night), I saw even more cars, and this time the driveway was full of cars. Even more amazing, there was a large-screen television in the living room, and I could see people in and around it.

When the wife got up around 3:30 a.m. for work, I got up for a few moments and took a better look out the front windows.  I could see more cars going in and out, people milling in the living room, and a couple of guys talking on the front steps. I quietly opened my front door, and got hit with some very distinct noise. Some sort of contest seemed to be going on, as I heard mixed voices cheering “John” on about whatever he was doing. I could also pick out specific details of the conversation from the two men on the opposing house porch. Though once I closed the door again, I could hear none of it.

When I woke up to the (accidental) sounding of my alarm at 4:30 a.m., I decided to just get up and do my 4.5 mile morning run I had planned on. So I got ready. But before I did the actual run, I stepped out to the end of my driveway and observed the house across the road.  Three fresh carloads of people parked and entered the house.

I gave them about 30 seconds before heading over to the neighbors door and actually ringing the doorbell. That brought someone to the door. I said, hello, I live across the street and was just wondering what was going on. Has someone moved in?

That led to the new owner coming to the door and stepping out to talk to me. He mentioned he had just moved in last week and had tried to have a little “housewarming” party that just seemed to grow and get out of hand.

I quickly and cheerfully assured him there was no problem. Told him that when I opened my door I could hear the party, but when I was inside we heard nothing — it wasn’t disturbing anyone. And I complimented his guests on their parking so my wife was able to get out of our driveway and down the street when she left for work at 4 a.m. I also mentioned that I happened to be up, dressed the way I was, to do my morning run.

I also mentioned we tend to be friendly neighbors, but we also don’t pry very much.

I introduced myself, got his name (Kenny), and said ‘welcome to the neighborhood).

By the time i came back from the run the crowd had thinned a bit. By around 6 a.m. there was only one car left, and it was gone before 7 a.m.

So now we have a new neighbor, of whom I have a positive impression, and hopefully made a positive impression.

Leave a Reply

