#176: Break Thou the Bread of Life

Standard

(Part of a series singing through the hymnbook I grew up with: Great Hymns of the Faith)

I remember this song as a frequent musical underlay to the communion service in the churches where I grew up.

1

Break Thou the bread of life, Dear Lord, to me,

As Thou didst break the loaves Beside the sea:

Beyond the sacred page I seek Thee, Lord;

My spirit pants for Thee, O living Word.

2

Bless Thou the truth, dear Lord, To me — to me,

As Thou didst bless the bread By Galillee:

Then shall all bondage cease,

All fetters fall,

And I shall find my peace, My All in all.

3

Thou art the bread of life, O Lord, to me;

Thy holy Word the truth That saveth me;

Give me to eat and live With Tee above;

Teach me to love Thy truth, For Thou art love.

4

O send Thy Spirit, Lord, Now unto me,

That He may touch my eyes And make me see:

Show me the truth concealed Within Thy Word,

And in Thy book revealed I see the Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

