2017: starting and restarting and finishing

Standard

A lot of things seem to have begin end dates of the new year.

Before I could ride my bicycle this morning, to properly track the numbers I want to on it, I had to reset the odometer so I could track my mileage for the year.

Last fall was open enrollment for health benefits at work. Since work provides several options to choose from, this year I chose to switch plans and lower premiums, so that means new cards, and providing new information to all our medical providers the next time we visit them.

I do a daily Bible reading. I used a through the Bible plan last year with some Old Testament each day and some New Testament most days. Now I need to look through plans offered and decide how I want to do it this year. Probably should have been looking before January 1, but will be doing that today. (note, took break writing the post here, and chose my plan — Historical, in the order written, as best guessed by scholars.)

I have all sorts of Google sheets that I track various numbers and activities. I’ll need to role each of those to start a new sheet for the year. need to decide if I want to update the format on any of them to better reflect the information I am trying to record. These sorts of things are always works-in-progress.

I have some goals for the year. Won’t mention most of them here. The fitness ones will be listed in tomorrow’s weekly fitness post.

I also have something to finish up this year. Two classes remaining in my Master’s Degree. Hopefully one here January-March (on how to research — prep for the thesis), and the final course September to December to write the thesis. I really need to discuss the topic with my adviser and settle on something I want to do. Problem is I get another good idea with each class I take. Need to find focus. But hopefully the degree will be completed this year. my actual hope is to March during the May 2018 ceremony.

A lot more things going on for the year. That is just a sample.

But it began well this morning. Seems very appropriate that the first day of the year is a Sunday, to spend the day in worship with communion and the fellowship of believers. And we even had a special guest today. My bad for not  writing the name down, but it was someone from South Korea, who is going back after being an exchange student somewhere in Texas. She was visiting us because 17 years ago she sang at the wedding of our pastor and his wife (they are naturalized US citizens who came here from South Korea).

She sang what seemed to me a medley of praise hymns while accompanying herself on the piano. As someone with 12 years of piano lessons, and a singer who has accompanied himself while singing, I know that isn’t easy. She had a good voice too. But it was the medley, and the message, that gave me chills of awe and praise. I’ve been moved my many special numbers at services, but today I was really moved, as I haven’t been in a long time.

I was glad I started my year in church.

Leave a Reply

