#86: Away in a Manger

Standard

(Part of a series singing through the hymnbook I grew up with: Great Hymns of the Faith)

1

Away in a manger, no crib for a bed,

The little Lord Jesus laid down His sweet head;

The stars in the sky looked down where He lay,

The little Lord Jesus, asleep on the hay.

2

The cattle are lowing, the Baby awakes,

But little Lord Jesus, no crying He makes;

I love Thee, Lord Jesus! look down from the sky,

And stay by my cradle till morning is nigh.

3

Be near me, Lord Jesus, I ask Thee to stay

Close by me forever, and love me, I pray;

Bless all the dear children in Thy tender care,

And fit us for heaven, to live with Thee there.

 

Leave a Reply

