#39: This Is My Father’s World

Standard

 (Part of a series singing through the hymnbook I grew up with: Great Hymns of the Faith)

This song has special meaning to me. It is associated in my mind with Professor Reigles and the Houghton College Choir. It was both a tryout song, and a tuning song.

1

This is my Father’s world, And to my list’ning ears

All nature sings, and round me rings The music of the spheres.

This is my Father’s world! I rest me in the thought

Of rocks and trees, of skies and seas – His hand the wonders wrought.

2

This is my Father’s world – The birds their carols raise;

The morning light, the lily white, Declare their maker’s praise.

This is my Father’s world! He shines in all that’s fair.

In the rustling grass I hear Him pass – He speaks to me ev’ry where.

3

This is my Father’s world – O let me ne’er forget

That tho the wrong seems oft so strong God is the Ruler yet.

This is my Father’s world! The battle is not done;

Jesus who died shall be satisfied, And earth and heav’n be one.

Leave a Reply

