#27: I sing the Mighty Power of God

Standard

(Part of a series singing through the hymnbook I grew up with: Great Hymns of the Faith)

1

I sing the mighty pow’r of God That made the mountains rise,

That spread the flowing seas abroad And built the lofty skies.

I sing the wisdom that ordained The sun to rule the day;

The moon shines full at His command, And all the stars obey.

2

I sing the goodness of the Lord that filled the earth with food;

He formed the creatures with His word And then pronounced them good.

Lord, how Thy wonders are displayed Where’er I turn my eye;

If I survey the ground I tread Or gaze upon the sky!

3

There’s not a plant or Flow’r below But makes tThy glories known;

And clouds arise and tempest blo By order from Thy throne;

While all that borrows life from Thee Is ever in Thy care,

And ev’ry where that man can be, Tho, god, art present there.

Leave a Reply

