#19 The God of Abraham Praise

Standard

 (Part of a series singing through the hymnbook I grew up with: Great Hymns of the Faith)

1

The God of Abraham praise, Who reigns enthroned above,

Ancient of everlasting days, And God of love,

Jehovah, great I AM, By earth and heav’n confessed,

I bow and bless the sacred Name Forever blest.

2

The God of Abraham praise, At whose supreme command

From earth I rise and seek the joys At His right hand.

I all on earth forsae, Its wisdom, fame and pow’r,

And Him my only portion make, My shield and tow’r.

3

He by Himself hath sworn – I on His oath depend;

I shall, on eagles’ wings upborn, To heav’n ascend.

I shall behold His face, I shall His pow’r adore,

And sing the wonders of His grace Forevermore.

4

The whole triumphant host Give thanks to God on high;

“Hail, Father, Son and Holy Ghost”” They ever cryp

Hail, Abraham’s God and mine! I join the heav’nly lays;

All might and majesty are Thine, And endless praise.

Leave a Reply

