When I Saw Sweet Nelly Home

Standard

This song seems to actually have a happy ending, enduring through the years. At least I assume the matron in verse 3 is Nelly.

What I remember about this song is my dad playing it on his violin and singing it. But the chorus was a little different “It was from Aunt Nina’s knitting party, I was seeing Nellie home.” Slightly different wording, but obviously the same song.

1

In the sky the bright stars glittered On the grass the moonlight fell

Hugh’d the sound of daylight bustle Closed the pink eyed pimpernel

As adown the moss grown wood path Where the cattle love to roam

From an August evening party I was seeing Nelly home.

Chorus

In the sky the bright stars glittered On the grass the moonlight shone

From an august evening party I was seeing nelly home.

2

When the autumn tinged the greenwood Turning all its leaves to gold

In the lawn by elders shaded I my love to Nelly told

As we stood together gazing On the star bespangled dome

How I blessed the august evening When I saw sweet Nelly home.

Chorus

3

White hairs mingled with my tresses Furrows steal upon my brow

But a love smile cheers and blesse Life’s declining moments now

Matron in the snowy kerchief Closer to my bosom come

Tell me dos’t thou still remember When I saw sweet Nelly home

Chorus (repeat)


Leave a Reply

