A Blast of the Past #5 — the truncated album

Standard

These pictures should be in a binder album all their own, with a numbered table of contents in the front describing each of the pictures and naming everyone in them.  But they aren’t.

Loading the bus in Houghton.

Loading the bus in Houghton.

These pictures are from the College Choir tour my senior year.  All three previous yeas I had taken pictures just as described above, and created albums.  But this year, when I came back from tour, full of pictures, and shipped them off to the same mail-order photo developer, only one roll came back.  They said they only received the one roll — though they were all in the same mailer. The rest got lost either in the mail or at the developer. I will never know.

Coming into Corning. You can see the spire of the thermometer tower.

Coming into Corning. You can see the spire of the thermometer tower.

Disappointed, I put them away and never looked at them again, never finished an album, since there wasn’t enough to finish. Somewhere along the line they got stuffed in this huge album along with all the other stray pictures from that time period. And so now I am looking at what remnants I have.

In sight of the church.

In sight of the church.

Senior year tour started by touring what was then my home church, Caton Bible Chapel, and this roll apparently was the first roll of film shot.  I have pictures of packing the bus at Houghton, of driving into Corning, of driving up to the church, and of our group in the church.  I also have pictures of all the guys that my parents hosted at our place from the choir.

Houghton0080

I remember being a little worried about how people would view our church. In particular, since we didn’t have a pipe organ, I wondered how Dan Fortune, the organ major, would view our electronic organ.  I remember he had made some very telling remarks about Hammond organs (the one’s that are better suited to roller rinks than churches). But I needn’t have worried. He rather approved of it for an electronic organ.

The guys who stayed at my house posing in the game room around the pool table.

The guys who stayed at my house posing in the game room around the pool table.

That is my truncated tour. I’ll never have the pictures to remind me of the rest of the tour.Maybe some day I’ll find the notebook where I took my notes of the tour, to go with the pictures, to remind me of what pictures I took.

But it does make me ponder where many of these friends are today. I know Rob Wuethrich (the guy with the pool ball in his mouth) is pastoring a church sort of “over the hill” from Caton. He is a lot closer to Caton than I am these days.

Leave a Reply

