Sweet By and By

Standard

This is another of those spiritual type songs that I grew up knowing – I just didn’t know its provenance, as the terminology goes. I see from my notes in the book that I did perform this song from the book in my country church during my growing up days. It was obviously a family piece then, with the parts of the chorus being sung by different family members. Perhaps someday I will record it in full parts, but for today, it is going to be impromptu unison and duet.

1

There’s a land that is fairer than day,

And by faith we can see it afar,

For the Father waits over the way,

To prepare us a dwelling place there.

Chorus

In the sweet by and by, We shall meet on that beautiful shore,

In the sweet by and by, We shall meet on that beautiful shore.

2

We shall sing on that beautiful shore,

The melodious songs of the blest,

And our spirits shall sorrow no more –

Not a sigh for the blessing of rest.

Chorus

3

To our bountiful Father above,

We will offer the tribute of praise,

For the glorious gift of his love,

And the blessing that hallow our days!

Chorus

Leave a Reply

