Reuben and Rachel

Standard

This song isn’t instantly familiar to me, until I read the lyrics – then I know I have heard it – sung by a women’s chorus from a local middle school during a middle school choral festival we attended. So I decided to try reading this one. I recall it being a little bit haunting, teasing, and tongue-in-cheek. And so far, I think it is the most fun song I have found in the entire book.  Listen along with our rough “comic duet” as we sing back and forth (and my trying to play and sing – don’t listen for all the wrong notes played!).

1

Rachel: Reuben, I have long been thinking, What a good world this might be,

If the men were all transported Far beyond the Northern sea.

Reuben: Rachel, I have long been thinking, What a fine world this might be,

If we had some more young ladies On this side the Northern Sea.

Refrain

Reuben: Too ral loo ral loo,

Rachel: Too ral loo ral,

Reuben: Too ral loo ral loo,

Rachel: Too ral lee,

Duet:

Rachel: If the men were all transported Far beyond the Northern Sea.

Reuben: If we had some more young ladies On this side the Northern Sea.

2

Rachel: Reuben, I’m a poor lone woman, No one seems to care for me,

I wish the men were all transported Far beyond the Northern Sea.

Reuben: I’m a man without a victim, Soon I think there’s one will be,

If the men are not transported Far beyond the Northern Sea.

Refrain

3

Rachel: Reuben, what’s the use of fooling, Why not come up like a man?

If you’d like to have a “lovyer” I’m for life your “Sally Ann.”

Reuben: Oh my goodness! Oh my gracious! What a queer world this would be,

If the men were all transported Far beyond the Northern Sea!

Refrain

4

Rachel: Reuben, now do stop your teasing, If you’ve any love for me;

I was only just a fooling, As I thought of course you’d see.

Reuben: Rachel’ I will not transport you, But will take you for a wife,

We will live on “milk and honey,” Better or worse, we’re in for life.

Refrain

Leave a Reply

